Skip to content

David Gilmour

Rattle that lock 

August 11, 2015

David Gilmour, has announced that his new solo album ‘Rattle That Lock’ will be released worldwide on 18 September.

‘Rattle That Lock’ is David Gilmour’s fourth solo album and follows his 2006 No 1 ‘On An Island’. Primary lyricist is Gilmour’s long-term writing partner, Polly Samson, and it is co-produced by David Gilmour and Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera. ‘Rattle That Lock’s striking cover has been art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation under the creative directorship of Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis.

Check out the cool animated music video for the first single, also called ‘Rattle That Lock’:

The song begins with the four notes, created by Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which Gilmour recorded on his iPhone at Aix-en-Provence station. Samson’s lyrics are inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost, which is also featured in her recent acclaimed novel, The Kindness. The single also features the Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.

The album ‘Rattle That Lock’ is available as a Deluxe CD+BluRay as well as a Vinyl LP on Amazon. You can also preorder it now from iTunes as a Deluxe or Standard album.